Foundation celebrates 2024 Health Care Visionary Awards

Mercy Health — Youngstown, OH

The annual Health Care Visionary Awards ceremony honored three special leaders

Foundation supporters joined in celebrating award recipients

On Wednesday, April 10, Mercy Health Foundation Mahoning Valley hosted the 2024 Health Care Visionary Awards. The event took place at the DeYor Performing Arts Center in downtown Youngstown. Three individuals received awards for championing the health of the Mahoning Valley community.

The Continuing the Legacy Award went to Shirley Lisk. Before retiring earlier in 2024, she spent almost 20 years serving as manager of Mercy Health – St. Joe’s at the Mall. A vital community program, it offers free and discounted health screenings, vaccines, health education and community resource information. It also provides a gym and fitness classes at the local shopping mall. The St. Joe's at the Mall team follows Shirley's legacy of helping those in need in and around Warren, OH.

The Mahoning Valley Leadership in Health Award went to Dr. Cynthia A. Kravec. Dr. Kravec is a physician at Mercy Health – St. Elizabeth Internal Medicine and at Villa Maria Primary Care. She is also a faculty member of the Mercy Health – Internal Medicine residency program. She educates the future physicians of our community and treats patients from across the Mahoning Valley. Through her dedicated work, she touches many lives.

The Heart of the Mission Award went to Sister Carol Anne Smith. Sister Carol Anne Smith is the Pastoral Leader of the Sisters of the Humility of Mary. The Sisters dedicate themselves to carrying out Jesus' mission of serving the poor. They have a long history of serving as educators and pastoral ministers. They also work in health care and social services, acting out the life-giving message of Jesus. The Sisters have supported the Mahoning Valley for over 100 years.

Sister Carol Anne Smith gave a lovely keynote address. Following the awards ceremony, guests enjoyed a social reception.

A group of seven people stand in a line. They are dressed in formal attire and are indoors. They have just received awards and are smiling.
From left to right: Paul Homick, Shirley Lisk, Esther Buschau, Dr. Rashid Abdu, Sr. Carol Anne Smith, Dr. Cynthia Kravec, Dr. Jim Kravec


Have Questions?

Are you looking for information about the 2025 Health Care Visionary Awards? If so, contact Jessica Jordan, Special Events Coordinator. You can reach her at [email protected] or by phone at (330) 965-5561.